dentons.com

DENTONS

2014 Donald G.H. Bowman National Tax Moot





The Donald G.H. Bowman National Tax Moot

The Donald G.H. Bowman National Tax Moot is Canada's first competitive moot on taxation. The Moot is named after the Honourable Donald G.H. Bowman, former Chief Justice of the Tax Court of Canada. The fourth annual Bowman Moot will be held in Toronto on February 28 and March 1, 2014.

The Donald G.H. Bowman Moot was founded by Dr. Emir Crowne, Associate Professor, and Professor John P. Weir, both of the University of Windsor Law School, and the partnership of Dentons Canada LLP. It is administered by a committee of jurists, practitioners, academics and students.

About Donald G.H. Bowman

As former Chief Justice of the Tax Court of Canada, the Honourable Donald G.H. Bowman has extensive experience in resolving tax disputes. He is Counsel to Dentons' National Tax Group and shares his expertise with members of the group as a mentor and adviser. Based in the firm's Toronto office, Mr. Bowman works to enhance Dentons' ability to reach early resolution of tax and related disputes for our clients. His practice at Dentons consists of giving advice on tax matters to clients, lawyers in the firm throughout Canada and to lawyers in other firms.

Mr. Bowman has spent his entire legal career as a tax litigator. He joined the Federal Department of Justice – Tax Litigation Section soon after his call to the Ontario Bar and was appointed director in 1968. He joined the law firm of Stikeman, Elliott, Robarts & Bowman in 1971 and was a partner there until his appointment to the Tax Court of Canada. He was appointed Judge of the Tax Court of Canada in 1991 and Associate Chief Judge in February 2000. He was appointed Associate Chief Justice in July 2003 and Chief Justice in February 2005.

For more information, please visit www.bowmantaxmoot.com We will be posting updates and photos after the event.



Awards reception events

5:30-6:30 p.m. Cocktail reception

6:30-8 p.m. Dinner

8–9 p.m. Awards ceremony

Master of Ceremonies

Professor John P. Weir, University of Windsor

Award for Best Factum

The Honourable Justice David Stratas

Award for Best Advocate

The Honourable Chief Justice Gerald Rip

Award for Best Team

The Honourable Donald G.H. Bowman

9 p.m. After-dinner reception

Trinity Ballroom

Marriott Toronto Eaton Centre Hotel

525 Bay Street Toronto, Ontario

Menu

Appetizer

Soup (vegan/dairy free)

Main

Mushroom & spinach stuffed breast of chicken, creamy thyme-truffle sauce, sweet potato pave with chef's seasonal market vegetables

Vegetarian

Truffled mushroom risotto

Dessert

Chocolate truffle cake with chocolate sauce

Wine

Jackson Triggs (chardonnay) Jackson Triggs (merlot)



The Bowman Moot Committee

Founding/Executive committee of the Bowman Moot

The Honourable Donald G.H. Bowman, former Chief Justice of the Tax Court of Canada The Honourable Chief Justice Gerald Rip, Tax Court of Canada The Honourable Justice David Stratas, Federal Court of Appeal Dr. Emir Crowne, Associate Professor, University of Windsor, Faculty of Law Professor John P. Weir, University of Windsor, Faculty of Law and Co-Chair of the Bowman Moot

Timothy Fitzsimmons, Partner, Dentons Canada LLP and Co-Chair of the Bowman Moot

Sub-committee members

Dentons

Anita Alvarez , Michael Bowmile, Mark Cavdar, Alexei Chinkarenko, Holly Cunliffe, Matthew Dunnet, Adam Galea, Ingrid Handy, Josh Kumar, Carla Lamb, Carolanne Lowden, Matthew Maynard, Kathryn McCulloch, Paul Minos, Shaira Nanji, Christian Orton, Christopher Payne, Jackson Phillips, Josh Rosen, Sanja Sopic, Rina Theodorakopoulos, Quentin Vander Schueren, Thomas Wilson, Monique Ziezold

University of Windsor, Faculty of Law volunteers

Renata Antoniuk, Raymond Ashurov, Elisa Durante, Andrea Figueira, Sabrina Gismondi, Houtan Mashinchi

Tax Court of Canada volunteers

Mani Kakkar, Andrew Sullivan

The Bowman Moot panelists

Members of the judiciary

The Honourable David Stratas, Federal Court of Appeal
The Honourable Wyman Webb, Federal Court of Appeal
The Honourable Gerald Rip, Chief Justice of the Tax Court of Canada
The Honourable Eugene Rossiter, Associate Chief Justice of the Tax Court of Canada
The Honourable Patrick J. Boyle, Tax Court of Canada

The Honourable David Graham, Tax Court of Canada

The Bowman Moot panelists (cont'd)

Members of the Bar

Wayne Adams, Canadian Tax Foundation

Neil Bass, Dentons Canada LLP

Monica Biringer, Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP

Marie-Thérèse Boris, Department of Justice Canada (retired)

Vince Imerti, Stikeman Elliott LLP

Dave Muha, Deloitte Tax Law LLP

Brandon Siegal, McCarthy Tétrault LLP

John Sorensen, Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP

Yves St-Cyr, Dentons Canada LLP

Christopher Steeves, Fasken Martineau LLP

Matthew Williams, Thorsteinssons LLP

John Yuan, McCarthy Tétrault LLP

Moot participants

Ottawa (Civil), 1A: Zeina El-Khoury, Lila Amara | 1R: Jennifer Katsaros, Dominic Bouchard

Alberta, 2A: Jason Pisesky, Stephen Dam | 2R: Faiz-Ali Virji, Lindsay Burgess

Osgoode, 3A: Denisa Mertiri, Lou Chang | 3R: Jessica-Ann Buchta, Jesse Phipps-Williams Osgoode, Alternate: Nathaniel Hills

Toronto, 4A: Kyle Gerow, Sheena Lessard | 4R: Jonathan Barrentine, Chad Pilkington

British Columbia, 5A: Zhuo Chen, Jeffrey MacDonald | 5R: Kayla Strong, Patrick Walker British Columbia, Alternate: Trevor Simpson

Calgary, 6A: Perry Kiefer, Rob Levis | 6R: Rob Woodward, Lori MacKay

Western, 7A: Michele Qu, Samantha Wolfish | 7R: Richard Zsolt, Rahul Gandotra Western, Alternate: Chris Marta

Queen's, 8A: Kit Skillicorn, Matt Jagodits | 8R: Kari-Anne Layng, Carl Petersen-Deeprose Queen's, Alternate: Craig Zeeh

Dalhousie, 9A: Andrew Nicol, Dave Dhillon | 9R: Dante Manna, Neil McPhee



Sponsors

Bowman Lecture Luncheon

Welcome Reception/Gala Dinner

OSLER

DENTONS

Saturday Breakfast

Osler, Hoskin

Saturday Lunch

THORSTEINSSONS TAX LAWYERS

STIKEMAN ELLIOTT

STIKEMAN ELLIOTT LLP

Saturday Cocktail Receptions

Trophies

Deloitte Tax Law LLP
Barristers and Solicitors

gowlings

Hotel Accommodation

Panelists' Gifts





Financial Support

Books



CARSWELL®

About Dentons

Dentons is the new global law firm created by international law firm Salans LLP, Canadian law firm Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP (FMC) and international law firm SNR Denton and is driven to provide you with the competitive edge in an increasingly complex and interconnected marketplace.

Now clients benefit from approximately 2,600 lawyers and professionals in more than 75 locations spanning 50-plus countries across Africa, Asia Pacific, Canada, Central Asia, Europe, the Middle East, Russia and CIS, the UK and the US who are committed to challenging the status quo and offer creative, dynamic business and legal solutions.

