



2012 DONALD G.H. BOWMAN NATIONAL TAX MOOT

The Donald G.H. Bowman National Tax Moot is Canada's first competitive moot on taxation. The Moot is named after the Honourable Donald G.H. Bowman, former Chief Justice of the Tax Court of Canada. The second annual Bowman Moot will be held in Toronto on March 2nd and 3rd, 2012.

The Donald G.H. Bowman Moot was founded by Dr. Emir Crowne, Associate Professor, and Professor John P. Weir, both of the University of Windsor Law School, and the partnership of Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP (FMC). It is administered by a committee of jurists, practitioners, academics and students.

ABOUT DONALD G.H. BOWMAN

As former Chief Justice of the Tax Court of Canada, the Honourable Donald G.H. Bowman has extensive experience in resolving tax disputes. He is Counsel to FMC's National Tax Group and shares his expertise with members of the group as a mentor and adviser. Based in the firm's Toronto office, Mr. Bowman works to enhance FMC's ability to reach early resolution of tax and related disputes for our clients. His practice at FMC consists of giving advice on tax matters to clients, lawyers in the firm throughout Canada and to lawyers in other firms.

Mr. Bowman has spent his entire legal career as a tax litigator. He joined the Federal Department of Justice – Tax Litigation Section soon after his call to the Ontario Bar and was appointed director in 1968. He joined the law firm of Stikeman, Elliott, Robarts & Bowman in 1971 and was a partner there until his appointment to the Tax Court of Canada. He was appointed Judge of the Tax Court of Canada in 1991 and Associate Chief Judge in February 2000. He was appointed Associate Chief Justice in July 2003 and Chief Justice in February 2005.

AWARDS RECEPTION EVENTS

5:30 - 6:30 PM Cocktail Reception

6:30 - 8:00 PM Dinner

8:00 - 9:00 PM Awards Ceremony

Master of Ceremonies

Dr. Emir Crowne, Associate Professor, University of Windsor

Award for Best Factum

The Honourable Justice Karen Sharlow

Award for Best Advocate

The Honourable Chief Justice Gerald Rip

Award for Best Team

The Honourable Donald G.H. Bowman

9:00 PM After-Dinner Reception

Trinity Ballroom

Marriott Toronto Eaton Centre Hotel

525 Bay Street Toronto, Ontario

MENU

Appetizer

Soup (vegan/dairy free)

Main

Mushroom & Spinach Stuffed Breast of Chicken, Creamy Thyme-Truffle Sauce, Sweet Potato Pave

Vegetarian

Truffled Mushroom Risotto

Dessert

Chocolate Truffle Cake with Chocolate Sauce

Wine

Jackson Triggs Chardonnay Jackson Triggs Merlot

THE BOWMAN MOOT COMMITTEE

Founding/Executive Committee of the Bowman Moot

The Honourable Donald G.H. Bowman, former Chief Justice of the Tax Court of Canada

The Honourable Chief Justice Gerald Rip, Chief Justice of the Tax Court of Canada

The Honourable Justice Karen Sharlow, Federal Court of Appeal

Dr. Emir Crowne, Associate Professor, University of Windsor, Faculty of Law & Co-Chair of the Bowman Moot

Mohamed Hashim, LLM Candidate, University of Toronto

Timothy Fitzsimmons, Associate, Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP & Co-Chair of the Bowman Moot

Sub-Committee Members

Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP

Ahmad Adam, Anita Alvarez, Jenelle Ambrose, Jenna Chandani, Ryan Maynard, Kathryn McCulloch, Fabian Monaco, Blake Moran, Carrie O'Hagan, Kelli Shoebridge, Kanika Suri, Lisa Telebar, Lionel Tupman

University of Windsor, Faculty of Law Volunteers

Jonathan Hendricks, Jack Yu

Court Volunteers

Charmaine Coutinho, Romy-Alexandra Laliberte, Kang Lee, Geoffrey Metropolit, Daniel Morrison

THE BOWMAN MOOT PANELISTS

Members of the Judiciary

The Honourable Eleanor Dawson, Federal Court of Appeal

The Honourable Karen Sharlow, Federal Court of Appeal

The Honourable David Stratas, Federal Court of Appeal

The Honourable Johanne Trudel, Federal Court of Appeal

The Honourable Sean J. Harrington, Federal Court

The Honourable Roger T. Hughes, Federal Court

The Honourable Randall Bocock, Tax Court of Canada

The Honourable Patrick J. Boyle, Tax Court of Canada

The Honourable Robert Hogan, Tax Court of Canada

The Honourable Brent Paris, Tax Court of Canada

THE BOWMAN MOOT PANELISTS (CONT'D)

Members of the Bar

Wayne Adams, Canadian Tax Foundation

François Barette, Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP

Marie-Thérèse Boris, Department of Justice Canada

Ron Durand, Stikeman Elliott LLP

Gordon Funt, Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP

Angelo Gentile, Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP

Cliff Rand, Stikeman Elliott LLP

Brandon Siegal, McCarthy Tétrault LLP

Christopher Steeves, Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP

David Stevens, Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP

Kim Wharram, Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP

Brandon Wiener, Thorsteinssons LLP

John Yuan, McCarthy Tétrault LLP

MOOT PARTICIPANTS

Alberta, 9A: Scott Nicol, Theo Stathakos | 9R: Jaques Du Plessis, Nancy Strong

Alberta, Alternate: Devinn Connolly

British Columbia, 7A: Jennifer Flood, Alex Hudson | 7R: Liam Bath, Evan Griffith

British Columbia, Alternate: Will House

Calgary, 1A: Daniel MacAuley, Veronica Pinero | 1R: Kaitlyn Perrin, Steven Spackman

Osgoode, 8A: Benjamin Keen, Jennifer Webb | 8R: Preston MacNeil, Slavica Stojimirovic

Osgoode, Alternate: Lenci Kadavil

Ottawa, 2A: Maria Aylward, Saeed Teebi | 2R: Ian Greenway, Christian Orton

Ottawa, Alternate: Hamid Nuri

Queen's, 10A: Addy Cameron-Huff, Taheratul Haque | 10R: Abbey Sinclair, Steve Taylor

Queen's, Alternate: Jonathan Crangle

Toronto, 3A: Atrisha Lewis, Alec Milne | 3R: Leonard Elias, Sameer Nurmohamed

Victoria, 4A: Asif Abdulla, Lyndsey Delamont | 4R: Jeremy Ho, Lauren Longbottom

Victoria, Alternate: Meaghan McWhinnie

Western, 6A: Brent Harasym, Kristine Spence | 6R: Christine Arruda, Josh Kumar

Western, Alternate: Michael Royal

Windsor, 5A: Jesse Gardner, Adam Patchet | 5R: Jason Kujath, James Little

Windsor, Alternate: Isida Ranxi

SPONSORS

Bowman Lecture Luncheon



Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP

Saturday Breakfast



Trophies



Financial Support



Saturday Lunch



Saturday Cocktail Receptions



Panelists' Gifts



Hotel Accommodation



Books

CARSWELL

Welcome Reception



Gala Dinner



ABOUT FRASER MILNER CASGRAIN LLP (FMC)

FMC is one of Canada's leading business and litigation law firms with more than 500 lawyers in six full-service offices located in the country's key business centres. We focus on providing outstanding service and value to our clients, and we strive to excel as a workplace of choice for our people. Regardless of where you choose to do business in Canada, our strong team of professionals possess knowledge and expertise on regional, national and cross-border matters. FMC's well-earned reputation for consistently delivering the highest quality legal services and counsel to our clients is complemented by an ongoing commitment to diversity and inclusion to broaden our insight and perspective on our clients' needs.



Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP 77 King Street West, Suite 400 Toronto-Dominion Centre Toronto ON Canada MEK OAL