



2011 DONALD G.H. BOWMAN NATIONAL TAX MOOT

THE FIRST ANNUAL DONALD G.H. BOWMAN NATIONAL TAX MOOT

The Donald G.H. Bowman National Tax Moot is Canada's first competitive moot on taxation. The Moot is named after the Honourable Donald G.H. Bowman, former Chief Justice of the Tax Court of Canada. The first annual Bowman Moot will be held in Toronto on March 11th and 12th, 2011.

The Donald G.H. Bowman Moot was founded by Professor Emir Aly Crowne (né Mohammed) and Professor John P. Weir, both of the University of Windsor Law School, and the partnership of Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP (FMC). It is administered by a committee of jurists, practitioners, academics and students.

ABOUT DONALD G.H. BOWMAN

As former Chief Justice of the Tax Court of Canada, the Honourable Donald G.H. Bowman has extensive experience in resolving tax disputes. He is Counsel to FMC's National Tax Group and shares his expertise with members of the group as a mentor and adviser. Based in the firm's Toronto office, Mr. Bowman works to enhance FMC's ability to reach early resolution of tax and related disputes for our clients. His practice at FMC consists of giving advice on tax matters to clients, lawyers in the firm throughout Canada and to lawyers in other firms.

Mr. Bowman has spent his entire legal career as a tax litigator. He joined the Federal Department of Justice – Tax Litigation Section soon after his call to the Ontario Bar and was appointed director in 1968. He joined the law firm of Stikeman, Elliott, Robarts & Bowman in 1971 and was a partner there until his appointment to the Tax Court of Canada. He was appointed Judge of the Tax Court of Canada in 1991 and Associate Chief Judge in February 2000. He was appointed Associate Chief Justice in July 2003 and Chief Justice in February 2005.

AWARDS RECEPTION EVENTS

6:00 - 7:00 PM	Cocktail Reception
7:00 - 8:00 PM	Dinner
8:00 - 9:00 PM	Awards Ceremony Master of Ceremonies Professor John P. Weir, University of Windsor, Faculty of Law
	Award for Best Factum The Honourable Justice Karen Sharlow
	Award for Best Advocate The Honourable Chief Justice Gerald Rip
	Award for Best Team The Honourable Donald G.H. Bowman
9:00 PM	After-Dinner Reception Trinity Ballroom Marriott Toronto Eaton Centre Hotel 525 Bay Street
	SES Day Street

MENU

Appetizer Soup (vegan/dairy free)

Main

Chicken Coq au Vin with pearl onions and market fresh vegetables

Toronto, Ontario

Vegetarian

Butternut Squash Agnolotti with sautéed spinach leaves, roasted fennel, roma tomatoes & lemon sage cream

Dessert

Vanilla crème brulée with almond biscotti

Wine

Jackson Triggs Chardonnay Jackson Triggs Merlot

THE BOWMAN MOOT COMMITTEE

Founding/Executive Committee of the Bowman Moot

The Honourable Donald G.H. Bowman, former Chief Justice of the Tax Court of Canada The Honourable Chief Justice Gerald Rip, Chief Justice of the Tax Court of Canada The Honourable Justice Karen Sharlow, Federal Court of Appeal Professor Emir Aly Crowne (né Mohammed), University of Windsor, Faculty of Law & Co-

Chair of the Bowman Moot

Professor John P. Weir, University of Windsor, Faculty of Law & Co-Chair of the Bowman Moot Mohamed Hashim, Law Clerk to the Honourable Justice Roger Hughes, Federal Court Timothy Fitzsimmons, Associate, Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP

Sub-Committee Members

Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP

Anita Alvarez, Andrew Black, Angelo Gentile, Jacob Kaufman, Carolanne Lowden, Jonah Mayles, Adriana Morrison, Carrie O'Hagan, Meghan Thomas

University of Windsor, Faculty of Law Volunteers

Sabrina Fiacco, Jonathan Hendricks, Barbara Walancik, Jack Yu

THE BOWMAN MOOT PANELISTS

Members of the Judiciary

The Honourable Robert Mainville, Federal Court of Appeal The Honourable Karen Sharlow, Federal Court of Appeal The Honourable David Stratas, Federal Court of Appeal The Honourable Sean J. Harrington, Federal Court The Honourable Sandra Simpson, Federal Court The Honourable Gerald Rip, Chief Justice of the Tax Court of Canada The Honourable Eugene Rossiter, Associate Chief Justice of the Tax Court of Canada The Honourable Patrick J. Boyle, Tax Court of Canada The Honourable Steven K. D'Arcy, Tax Court of Canada The Honourable Judith Woods, Tax Court of Canada

THE BOWMAN MOOT PANELISTS (CONT'D)

Members of the Bar

Mark Barbour, Thorsteinssons LLP François Barette, Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP Neil Bass, Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP Chia-yi Chua, McCarthy Tétrault LLP Guy Gagnon, McCarthy Tétrault LLP Angelo Gentile, Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP John Lorito, Stikeman Elliott LLP Cliff Rand, Stikeman Elliott LLP David Stevens, Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP Cyndee Todgham Cherniak, McMillan LLP Kim Wharram, Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP Brandon Wiener, Thorsteinssons LLP

MOOT PARTICIPANTS

Alberta, 6A: Robert Joseph, Kristen Mercier Alberta, 6R: Gianfranco Matrangolo, Nathan Robb Alberta, Alternate: Sterling Lawrence British Columbia, 4A: Jeremie Beitel, Alia Somji British Columbia, 4R: Michael Alexis, Timothy Luk British Columbia, Alternate: Evan Griffith Osgoode, 5A: Kate Doyle, Jennifer Pocock Osgoode, 5R: Lindsay Beelen, Saktish Pillai Osgoode, Alternate: Shimmy Posen Queen's, 7A: Jaimie Graham, Bo Hou Queen's, 7R: Jonathan Crangle, Catie Fenn Queen's, Alternate: Raju Sidhu Victoria, 1A: Mary Bartle, Drew Gilmour Victoria, 1R: Andrew Hutton, Meaghan McWhinnie Victoria, Alternate: Michael Drouillard Western, 3A: Rajeeve Thakur, John Wenzel Western, 3R: Brent Harasym, Daniel Morrison Windsor, 2A: Lindsey Laframboise, Andrew Morreale Windsor, 2R: Jeremy Carnegie, Sage Harvey Windsor, Alternate: Gary Fung

SPONSORS

Inaugural Bowman Lecture Luncheon

OSLER Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP

Trophies

McCarthy Tétrault

Saturday Breakfast

THORSTEINSSONS LLP TAX LAWYERS

Welcome Reception



Books

Canadian Tax Foundation ACEF L'Association canadienne d'études fiscales

Saturday Lunch

STIKEMAN ELLIOTT

Saturday Cocktail Receptions

gowlings

Panelists' Gifts



Gala Dinner



Financial Supporters

 Canadian

 Tax Foundation

 ACEF

 L'Association canadienne

 d'études fiscales

a Wolters Kluwer business

ABOUT FRASER MILNER CASGRAIN LLP (FMC)

FMC is one of Canada's leading business and litigation law firms with more than 500 lawyers in six full-service offices located in the country's key business centres. We focus on providing outstanding service and value to our clients, and we strive to excel as a workplace of choice for our people. Regardless of where you choose to do business in Canada, our strong team of professionals possess knowledge and expertise on regional, national and cross-border matters. FMC's well-earned reputation for consistently delivering the highest quality legal services and counsel to our clients is complemented by an ongoing commitment to diversity and inclusion to broaden our insight and perspective on our clients' needs.



Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP

77 King Street West, Suite 400 Toronto-Dominion Centre